Hold your Course

Discussion on rules and regulations goes here

Moderator: Senior Admin

John Ball
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: Hold your Course

Post by John Ball » Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:28 pm

Dave Alston wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:57 am

The issue as to if there was a contact or not is really going to determine if Boat A should be disqualified or not.
Again - should boat A be disqualified.
If Green (Evil 11) on stbd had to alter course to avoid Yellow on port then Yellow has failed to keep clear and breaks R10 P/S. There does not have to be contact. So in a protest hearing, Yellow should lose.
The PC could find that there was sufficient room and that Green did not have to alter course, and dismiss the protest. This is a likely outcome if Green did not protest Yellow.
If Green chooses to tack to port to avoid Yellow, then Green is not obligated to protest (she 'may' protest).

John
John Ball
IOM CAN 307 (V8)
In my private capacity

John Ball
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: Hold your Course

Post by John Ball » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:43 am

Dave, I have a question - under which rule did Boat A protest you?

John
John Ball
IOM CAN 307 (V8)
In my private capacity

John Ball
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: Hold your Course

Post by John Ball » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:15 am

Dave I found the answer in your post -

But happily Boat A protested the evil boat 11

a) Boat 11 Infringed upon Boat A by not allowing sufficient Room for A to TACK


And my comment is that there is no obligation for a trailing boat to provide a leading boat for 'room to tack' except at an obstruction (R 19 and R 20).

Was there an obstruction?
Did A hail for 'room to tack'?

John
John Ball
IOM CAN 307 (V8)
In my private capacity

Dave Alston
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:04 pm
First Name: David
Last name: Alston

Re: Hold your Course

Post by Dave Alston » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:09 am

No obstructions ahead. Boat A should have waited for Evill 11 to tack.

Post Reply